Eanes ISD

26 Westlake HS Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

Westlake High School has 26 semifinalists competing in the 2017-18 National Merit Scholarship Program. Nationally 16,000 students were chosen to continue in the 63rd annual competition for 7,500 Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring. The nationwide pool of semifinalists represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors.

National Merit semifinalists from Westlake High School for 2017-18 are:

Brooke Cohen

Abby Criswell

Colin Donnelly

Elena Gambarin

Emily Gardner

Naira Ikram

Saitej Iyer

Matthew Kearney

Vy Lien

Jasper Lin

Kelsey Lyszkowski

Luke Marshall

Ruy Martinez

Elizabeth McFarland

Marika Murphy

Conor O'Bryon

Peter Pham

Rosemarie Pousset

Eeshaan Rehani

Lillian Sun

Kyle Wang

William Wang

Joshua Wiedemeier

Angela Zhang

William Ziaja

Isabella Zou

Semifinalists now advance to the finalist level of competition, where students must have an outstanding high school academic record, be endorsed and recommended by the school principal, and submit SAT scores that confirm his/her earlier qualifying test performance. Finalists will be announced in February 2018.

About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and more than half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title. Last year, Westlake finished with 28 Finalists.

The National Merit process started with more than 1.4 million juniors in 22,000 schools who took the Preliminary SAT test in 2016; semifinalists were the highest-scoring participants.

National Merit Semifinalists