Eanes ISD

Forest Trail ES EANESpiration Winners, 2015

FTE Eanespiration Winners 2014-15
Left to Right. Back Row: Jane Lewis, Alexandra Robinson, Bonnie Seelig, Sherrie Johnson, Kim Fromberg,
Marie Wendell, Superintendent Dr. Tom Leonard. Front Row: Shannon Harvey, Laurie Ellis, Jamie Berrios

Educational Impact Award

Those who display leadership and commitment to the district by making a positive, noticeable and significant impact.

Ms. Kim Fromberg, Ms. Sherrie Johnson, Ms. Bonnie Seelig, and Ms. Shannon Harvey
This group started a Math Pentathlon Club at Forest Trail that serves 3rd, 4th, and 5th grade students. This free event was designed to engage students in mathematics in a fun and exciting way. It is a motivational program designed to strengthen basic math concepts and skills, and it stimulates creative thinking while developing problem-solving skills. Ms. Fromberg, Ms. Johnson, Ms. Seelig, and Ms. Harvey volunteer their time to organize and facilitate the games each week. They are an inspiration to others, and we are grateful for their commitment to Forest Trail.

Ms. Alexandra Robinson
During her student teaching in Kindergarten, Ms. Robinson had an instrumental role in creating math assessments that aligned with the new curriculum. Her responsibilities included collaborating, organizing, developing and designing the final assessments. She worked diligently using her excellent technology skills and knowledge. Other schools in the district have also utilized the assessments she created. Ms. Robinson took on this responsibility without any guarantee of compensation and/or recognition. Even though she is not a permanent employee currently, she is a great asset to Eanes Independent School District.

Good Samaritan Award

One who displays compassion, selflessness, or courage by taking initiative.

Ms. Jane Lewis
Her nomination reads: Ms. Lewis has organized school-wide philanthropy projects for years. She has a donation drive for several months to collect toiletries for people who are homeless. She also organizes a coat drive every year for children and adults in need. Her students are involved, not only by bringing donations, but organizing them as well. Ms. Lewis is compassionate and an amazing role model for our students. The projects she organizes foster a spirit of giving in Forest Trail students. We are grateful for Ms. Lewis' dedication to philanthropy and teaching students about giving to others.

Heroes Award

Those who perform an outstanding achievement that brings prestige to Eanes ISD, or do something that goes above and beyond the call of duty.

Ms. Laurie Ellis
Ms. Ellis has worked tirelessly and selflessly this year with a brand new 4th grade team and several new curricula. She has maintained her kindness, passion for learning and teaching, and sense of humor throughout it all. She is a positive and professional role model for the 4th grade teaching team. Ms. Ellis' amazing ability to navigate new demands while continuing to deliver a high level of education to her students with patience and perseverance is nothing short of heroic.

Innovation Award

Those who have implemented a creative or innovative program, teaching method, or cost-savings for the district.

Ms. Jamie Berrios and Ms. Marie Wendell
Ms. Berrios and Ms.Wendell created an innovative science review for 5th grade students. This week-long competition included many activities which required collaboration and teamwork to successfully accomplish the tasks. To encourage good citizenship, bonus points were awarded to teams for displaying acts of kindness and support for the members of their team. Not only did the students review the content, they practiced their collaboration skills in a fun, engaging way. Ms. Berrios and Ms. Wendell put countless hours into planning and organizing this review game to make it an effective, successful learning experience for our students.