Skip To Main Content
Eanes ISD

Social Emotional Learning (SEL) & Healthy Students

Through the Social Emotional Learning (SEL) curriculum, children and adults both acquire and apply the knowledge and skills that are necessary in managing emotions, achieving goals, showing empathy for others, maintaining positive relationships, and making responsible decisions.

The SEL curriculum focuses on five core competencies:


  • Self-Awareness
  • Self-Management
  • Relationship Skills
  • Responsible Decision-Making
  • Social Awareness

Social Emotional LEarning Competencies

These softer skills in conjunction with strong academic skills are critical in assuring that students are successful beyond their K-12 educational experience. Promoting social emotional learning skills leads to higher academic achievement and an improved ability to function in schools and in the workplace.

We use Second Step ( as the primary resource for teaching SEL to students K-8. Our scope and sequence outlines learning objectives by student age.


District Quarterly Focus
First Nine Weeks Relationship Skills/Collaboration
Second Nine Weeks Self-Management/Resiliency &
Third Nine Weeks Social-Awareness/Empathy
Fourth Nine Weeks Responsible Decision Making/Choices


Recent Announcements

The Eanes ISD Counseling Services department has compiled a list of resources for families to utilize during this time. Students, and adults, may also notice an increase in their screen time. It is important to remember to take breaks and be physically active throughout the day.