Eanes ISD

Healthy Students (SEL)

Through the Social Emotional Learning (SEL) curriculum, children and adults both acquire and apply the knowledge and skills that are necessary in managing emotions, achieving goals, showing empathy for others, maintaining positive relationships, and making responsible decisions.


Once a quarter we will share a resource for parents on one of the 5 SEL competencies.

The latest tips are listed below by grade level. To see past tips, click on the grade level links in the navigation on the left. Click the title to see full tip.

  • Elementary (Grades K-5)
  • High School (Grades 9-12)
  • Middle School (Grades 6-8)

Dr. Leonard has stressed the importance of creating a safe learning environment for all children - an environment that fosters respecting all, caring for each other, communicating in a civil manner, and listening well while always being kind. Cultivating kindness is part of becoming socially aware and of learning to be empathetic...



2018-19 District Quarterly Focus
First Nine Weeks Relationship Skills/Collaboration
Second Nine Weeks Self-Management/Resiliency &
Third Nine Weeks Social-Awareness/Empathy
Fourth Nine Weeks Responsible Decision Making/Choices



Social Emotional Learning Competencies
Social Emotional LEarning Competencies