Eanes ISD

Social Emotional Learning (SEL)


The SEL curriculum focuses on five core competencies:

  • Self-Awareness
  • Self-Management
  • Relationship Skills
  • Responsible Decision-Making
  • Social Awareness

These softer skills in conjunction with strong academic skills are critical in assuring that students are successful beyond their K-12 educational experience. Promoting social emotional learning skills leads to higher academic achievement and an improved ability to function in schools and in the workplace.



We use Second Step (http://www.secondstep.org) as the primary resource for teaching SEL to students K-8. Our scope and sequence outlines learning objectives by student age.


Social Emotional Learning Competencies
Social Emotional LEarning Competencies