Eanes ISD

Healthy Students (SEL)

Through the Social Emotional Learning (SEL) curriculum, children and adults both acquire and apply the knowledge and skills that are necessary in managing emotions, achieving goals, showing empathy for others, maintaining positive relationships, and making responsible decisions.



Once a quarter we will share a resource for parents on one of the 5 SEL competencies.

The latest tips are listed below by grade level. To see past tips, click on the grade level links in the navigation on the left. Click the title to see full tip.

  • Elementary (Grades K-5)

Resilience is not something kids are born with or born without. It is a skill that can be taught. Teaching kids to be reflective is also an important skill that enables children to learn from their mistakes...

  • High School (Grades 9-12)
  • Middle School (Grades 6-8)

Teaching our youth resilience can be equated to the metaphor of a tree. Trees need things from their environment to grow healthy and strong just as our youth depend on their environment to develop and mature. Self-Awareness makes it possible for teens to make decisions, plan for the future and understand their own emotions...



2018-19 District Quarterly Focus
First Nine Weeks Relationship Skills/Collaboration
Second Nine Weeks Self-Management/Resiliency &
Third Nine Weeks Social-Awareness/Empathy
Fourth Nine Weeks Responsible Decision Making/Choices


Social Emotional Learning Competencies
Social Emotional LEarning Competencies